Michigan Super Drunk Law
Recently, the state of Michigan enacted a "Super Drunk" law that allows for individuals who have high blood alcohol concentration levels to face steeper penalties. The new legislation allows for an individual with no prior DUI convictions within the last seven years to be penalized with maximum penalties if he or she is caught
operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .17% or higher. If the driver has had a prior DUI conviction, he or she will most likely face even harsher penalties.
Penalties of a Super Drunk DUI Conviction
If you are considered to be "Super Drunk" while driving and you are found guilty, you will face double the penalties of a regular DUI. The penalties of a Super Drunk DUI are as follows:
- Imprisonment for a maximum of 180 days
- Drivers' license suspension for one year
- Mandatory alcohol treatment for one year
- Up to 360 hours of community service
- 6 points on driving record
- Fines up to $700
While the nickname, and more commonly used name of this law is the "Super Drunk" law, it is technically called the "High Blood Alcohol content Enhanced Penalty" law. The law also states that motorists who wish to retain their driving privileges after 45 days may do so only after an ignition interlock device is installed on their vehicle.
Speak with a Bloomfield DUI Lawyer
Being charged with DUI in Michigan is no laughing matter. The Bloomfield DUI attorney from our firm could not agree more. Here at Daniel D. Hajji, Attorneys of Michigan we have been helping clients through drunk driving charges for nearly a decade. I have proven that my firm can bring an aggressive defense to the table, whether you are forced to settle your DUI case in court or at a
DMV hearing. We can even represent your child if he or she is charged with
underage DUI. Call my office to learn more about the new Super Drunk law in the state of Michigan!
To have your rights protected after being charged with a Super Drunk DUI, contact a Bloomfield DUI defense lawyer at our firm!